Welcome to St. Paul Airlines, !
Main Menu

Who's Online
 Welcome Guest
Join Us!


 Login:
User:


Password:


Remember me



Retrieve lost Password
 Online
 Members:0
 Guests:4
 Total:4
 Online Members
No Online members

SPA Recommends
VirtualCol Simulations

Return to Misty Moorings

flyawaysimulation.com

Avsim.com

Flightsim.com

SimRoutes

Flight Simulator Navigation

FS Goof's

Airman's Information Manual

NOAA Metar Access

IFR Refresher Magazine

History of MSFS

Flightaware.com

Fly Better

Aviator90 videos

search pnForum latest posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts

to previous topic Print topic to next topic

Start ::  Pilot's Lobby ::  MSFS Tweaks ::  Tweaking your Sim FSX
Moderated by:

Bottom 

Tweaking your Sim FSX

daveraine Posted: 25.11.2009, 04:57

daveraine

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 779

Status: offline
last visit: 28.12.09
Gents,

I get a copy of PC Pilot and in the last copy i got there is a section on Hints&Tips.

I have just tried one and i seem to get better frame rates, this is what it says.

If you have a dual-core or muti-processor machine, FSX can be modified to use more then one processor (you will need to have the Acceleration Pack installed for this to work). Use notepad to add this to the END of the FSX.CFG file.

[JOBSCHEDULER]
AffinityMask=0

Replace the 0 with the number 1 for a single processor machine, 3 for two processer, 7 for three and 15 fror four.

As i have said i have tried it on my system and I DONT have Acceleration Pack installed.
If it dosn't work then you can just deleate it from the CFG.file

Dave

Top  Profile send PM
 
jetjerry Posted: 25.11.2009, 09:06

jetjerry

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 840

Status: offline
last visit: 21.01.14
Thanks Dave for the tip.
I have tried that, and it seems to work.

Question: I have FSX SP2 installed. Can I install FSX Acceleration over the top of SP2 without creating a problem?

ALSO I have loaded different textures into FSX and they seem to help.
They are called: FS Enhancement Package V2...from Tom Knudsen. Find them at FlightSim.com

jetjerry
Top  Profile send PM
 
SPA031 Posted: 25.11.2009, 10:02

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1100

Status: offline
last visit: 22.01.18
8-) I would think that if you tried to install SP2 over Acceleration or the other way around then it will either work or else you will see an install message that says it isn't possible. I'm sure the programmers already thought of that.

I am looking for the best possible terrain textures to apply to FSX. I already installed XGraphics from HiFi Flightware. It has some great graphics, but I would also like to enhance the scenery to show the rivers, streams, roads, railroads, bridges, etc. more realistically. I did install Flight1 Scenery once but somehow along the way the the water level changed so that coastal areas were flooded. I had to repair FSX to correct that.





edited by: Robert_Thompson, Nov 25, 2009 - 11:03 AM
Top  Profile send PM
 
daveraine Posted: 25.11.2009, 11:28

daveraine

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 779

Status: offline
last visit: 28.12.09
Jerry,

This is from FSInsider,

IMPORTANT: If you have already installed the Flight Simulator X: Acceleration expansion pack, do not install Service Pack 1.

Looking at that you must have no updates for FSX ie, Service Pack1 Service Pack 2.

Hope all is well with you Jerry,we miss you round here.

Dave
Top  Profile send PM
 
SPA031 Posted: 25.11.2009, 18:05

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1100

Status: offline
last visit: 22.01.18
I think they were talking about the NEED to install Service Pack 1 if Acceleration was installed. It could be that Service Pack 1 is already a part of Acceleration. I don't think they would create a service pack that conflicts with another or would make the existing software unstable. That would be bad programming and bad for business.
Top  Profile send PM
 
Yoland Posted: 25.11.2009, 18:33

Yoland

registered: Jul. 2008
Posts: 1372

Status: offline
last visit: 25.09.17
Gentlemen,
If I may, Acceleration Pack already includes SP1 and SP2. On my machine, with VISTA, I did not have any problem to install Acceleration pack over FSX + SP1 and SP2. I guess that Acceleration pack just overwrite the two patches (SP1 & SP2) already present...
Concerning the enhencement package (textures) from Tom Knudsen they are just texture images with a smaller size (i.e. 512 instead of 1024 or 2048 p.). It is a very good solution on most 2-3 years old "top range" machines, allowing very good FPS result with a very acceptable graphic rendering. If you do not make direct comparison of the same image with or without thses special textures, you will not discern the difference... Or let say it better: I do not see the difference!


Yoland Grosjean - SPA 348
CEO St Paul Airlines VA
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 


Users online:


This list bases on the users active in the last 60 minutes


Powered by pnForum Version 2.6

Copyright 2000 - 2012 St. Paul Airlines

Web site powered by PostNuke ADODB database library PHP Language