Welcome to St. Paul Airlines, !
Main Menu

Who's Online
 Welcome Guest
Join Us!


 Login:
User:


Password:


Remember me



Retrieve lost Password
 Online
 Members:0
 Guests:4
 Total:4
 Online Members
No Online members

SPA Recommends
VirtualCol Simulations

Return to Misty Moorings

flyawaysimulation.com

Avsim.com

Flightsim.com

SimRoutes

Flight Simulator Navigation

FS Goof's

Airman's Information Manual

NOAA Metar Access

IFR Refresher Magazine

History of MSFS

Flightaware.com

Fly Better

Aviator90 videos

search pnForum latest posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts

to previous topic Print topic to next topic

Start ::  SPA Regular Hubs ::  London Heathrow Hub Notices ::  Missing in Action
Moderated by: Yoland

Bottom 

Missing in Action

Biggles Posted: 09.09.2010, 01:10

Biggles

registered: Mar. 2010
Posts: 87

Status: offline
last visit: 23.12.13
My apologies Yoland.
I have had a computer crash and not doing any flying lately.
Should be back up and running soon.
Warren.
Top  Profile send PM
 
Yoland Posted: 09.09.2010, 08:25

Yoland

registered: Jul. 2008
Posts: 1372

Status: offline
last visit: 25.09.17
Hello Warren,
Hope you are fine and that your computer works again.
I missed you and I will be quite happy to see you flying again. Anyway, here in the EGLL hub we are not so strict about the rules with gentlemen over 65 year old... the hub manager will be 68 in two days... therefore he understands the little problem that we can meet with our bloody computers.
Cheers
Yoland

Yoland Grosjean - SPA 348
CEO St Paul Airlines VA
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
Biggles Posted: 13.09.2010, 21:45

Biggles

registered: Mar. 2010
Posts: 87

Status: offline
last visit: 23.12.13
I have upgraded from Vista to Windows 7. Neither FS9 nor FSX will run and when I try to run FS9 I lose all sound on the computer. Any suggestions would be most welcome.
Top  Profile send PM
 
Yoland Posted: 14.09.2010, 02:45

Yoland

registered: Jul. 2008
Posts: 1372

Status: offline
last visit: 25.09.17
I am sorry Warren but as one of the few user [u][b]entirely satisfied with Vista [/b][/u](I have seen so many complaints?!), I do not use or know Windows 7. Therefore I really cannot help you. Furthermore, I never had FS9... as I jumped directly from FS98 (on my old computer) to FSX.
Nevertheless, i am confident that some of our pilots or specialists can get in touch and help you. Maybe Bob Thompson... Like you Warren he is equiped with Skype and he runs Windows 7.
Good luck!


Yoland Grosjean - SPA 348
CEO St Paul Airlines VA
Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
Biggles Posted: 14.09.2010, 06:33

Biggles

registered: Mar. 2010
Posts: 87

Status: offline
last visit: 23.12.13
Thanks for the comments Yoland. I am also one of the few who are satisfied with Vista. Please don't ask me why I was upgrading to Windows 7. My son is an IT whiz and it was at his urging that I was trying to upgrade. He is of the view that one of the many programs I have is in conflict with Windows 7 and causing the problem. For the time being I will stay with Vista and hope to have the time shortly to do some more flying.
Warren.
Top  Profile send PM
 
SPA031 Posted: 14.09.2010, 11:59

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1107

Status: offline
last visit: 09.04.18
Try updating your hardware drivers because XP drivers will not work with Windows 7.

Get the Uniblue software suite.

Get the free Secunia PCI.

Run MSCONFIG.exe and turn off the startup programs and reboot. Then if it is OK, set MSCONFIG.exe to a normal start and reboot. You will see a big difference in FSX performance. You might have a background program running that is eating up a lot of resources.

Install Microsoft Security Essentials.

Let me know how it goes after you have done all this.

8-)
Top  Profile send PM
 
Biggles Posted: 14.09.2010, 19:34

Biggles

registered: Mar. 2010
Posts: 87

Status: offline
last visit: 23.12.13
Thanks Robert but I have already rolled back to Vista which is working fine.
Warren.
Top  Profile send PM
 
apilot112 Posted: 14.09.2010, 19:51

apilot112

registered: Jul. 2010
Posts: 23

Status: offline
last visit: 24.04.15
that is weird i have windows 7 on my laptop and it works great but i did have problem with the sound at one point. I contacted hp and got it fixed. you can try making another account and see if it works on that one. That is how I fixed mine someone how it got corrupted and the sound would not work for my fsx or for my hulu desktop app. hope that helps.
Top  Profile send PM
 
Biggles Posted: 14.09.2010, 20:09

Biggles

registered: Mar. 2010
Posts: 87

Status: offline
last visit: 23.12.13
That does help a lot apilot as that is just what happened.My sound would not work either and neither FS9 nor FSX would start. I downloaded a new video card and all went well for about 30 minutes and then failed again. I gave up in the end and rolled back to Vista where all is OK.
Warren.
Top  Profile send PM
 
SPA031 Posted: 15.09.2010, 06:08

SPA031

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1107

Status: offline
last visit: 09.04.18
Windows XP drivers will work with Vista because Vista is just an upgraded version of XP. Windows 7 is a whole different animal. Microsoft will eventually stop supporting Windows XP with upgrades because they have put all their efforts into moving forward with Windows 7 and it's descendents.
Top  Profile send PM
 


Users online:


This list bases on the users active in the last 60 minutes


Powered by pnForum Version 2.6

Copyright 2000 - 2012 St. Paul Airlines

Web site powered by PostNuke ADODB database library PHP Language