Welcome to St. Paul Airlines, !
Main Menu

Who's Online
 Welcome Guest
Join Us!


 Login:
User:


Password:


Remember me



Retrieve lost Password
 Online
 Members:0
 Guests:3
 Total:3
 Online Members
No Online members

SPA Recommends
VirtualCol Simulations

Return to Misty Moorings

flyawaysimulation.com

Avsim.com

Flightsim.com

SimRoutes

Flight Simulator Navigation

FS Goof's

Airman's Information Manual

NOAA Metar Access

IFR Refresher Magazine

History of MSFS

Flightaware.com

Fly Better

Aviator90 videos

search pnForum latest posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts

to previous topic Print topic to next topic

Start ::  Pilot's Lobby ::  VATSIM Tips & Tricks ::  Post your Vatsim experiences here please
Moderated by:

Bottom 

Post your Vatsim experiences here please

KenLeMay Posted: 31.05.2006, 11:24

KenLeMay

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 800

Status: offline
last visit: 12.06.11
Gents,

When you fly a Vatsim flight, please post your experiences here; good or bad or neither. Also, when doing a flight, it's always best to log into the respective ARTCC to ensure you have the latest charts, news, and, they usually post a link to a "tell us how we did" area.

Thanks!

Ken LeMay
SPA009
Top  Profile send PM
 
YETIV8R Posted: 31.05.2006, 11:38

YETIV8R

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1529

Status: offline
last visit: 04.09.13
That's a great idea Ken.

By the way, when you represent SPA on VATSIM, you should be able to log your flight time with us or you can file PIREP. Please correct me here guys, if I'm wrong.

Naresh
Top  Profile send PM
 
KenLeMay Posted: 31.05.2006, 11:53

KenLeMay

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 800

Status: offline
last visit: 12.06.11
Yes by all means log your time! Also, when using Vatsim; please post who we are in the comments section of your flight plan, i.e., www.stpaulairlines.com! Thanks all!

Ken LeMay
SPA009
Top  Profile send PM
 
Anonymous Posted: 31.05.2006, 12:03
Unregistered User <<
>>

any time for controlling :p
Top 
 
KenLeMay Posted: 31.05.2006, 12:48

KenLeMay

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 800

Status: offline
last visit: 12.06.11
Chris, I'll tell ya what; if you end up controlling Denver, MSP, IAd, or DFW, I'm game! How's it going btw?

Ken LeMay
SPA009
Top  Profile send PM
 
SPA118 Posted: 31.05.2006, 13:02



registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 579

Status: offline
last visit: 21.07.14
Aww man, I didn't know we could count our hours here for flights on VATSIM outside of what is scheduled for us!!! I would have a ton of hours now!!!

Eric M. Eder, SPA118
Miami Hub Manager
miamanager@stpaulairlines.com

Top  Profile send PM
 
KenLeMay Posted: 31.05.2006, 15:25

KenLeMay

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 800

Status: offline
last visit: 12.06.11
Ok, let me re-phrase: As long as the flight is approved by your HM; ANY flight, be it on Vatsim or our own server; can be counted. I try to fly all my SPA flights on Vatsim anyway, so I file my Pirep; and on my comments section, I add "Vatsim flight". Just be sure to get it approved by your HM, and it's good to go!

Ken LeMay
SPA009
Top  Profile send PM
 
Anonymous Posted: 31.05.2006, 18:23
Unregistered User I think i'm going to pull for Denver. At first i wanted to do ZFW but changed my mind. I'll let you know :P.

Also training is going good. Start small and working up.

Clearance Delivery
Groud
Tower
App/Dep
Center

I'm still in early stages but learning a lot.
Top 
 
Anonymous Posted: 23.07.2007, 12:21
Unregistered User Yesterday (Sunday) I few to Souix Falls on VATSIM. Nobody was on for MSP, and I wasn't sure about procedures, so I tuned the Denver Center to ask. The controller was sort of a jackass about it. "You're in MSP, I'm in Denver.", which I took to mean "Shut up and leave me alone." Another pilot helped me out on a chat circuit. ( I understood about using UNICOM, but didn't realize the server would "force" a sqwk code. )

Later on I tried to fly MSP to KORD. Again, nobody was on for MSP. So I tuned to UNICOM, typed my intentions, and [u]advised that I was also monitoring the Chicago Center freq.[/u] The server forced a sqwck of 2200. Everything looked good to me.

Somewhere over Wisconsin I started getting nervous, because I figured it was about time for Chicago to be picking me up. I sent text to Chi advising my position. No response.

Then a chat window popped open from "AV_SUP" or similar asking me if I was there. He used my first name, so I know he had my flight plan. I replied, and also called the Center on voice. No response.

Then I got a chat message saying I would be terminated if I didn't respond immediately, and that I was flying in contrlled airspace. Again, I responded, and also tried Center again. I triple-check the frequecies. Nothing. Nada...

I suppose SB3 may have crapped, but I was receiving just fine, and my transponder seemed to be working just fine.

Also, according to the FSP charts, I was a long way from controlled airspace, but I was at FL 190, so I suppose that's the reason.

At any rate, I disconnected, and sent VATSIM a testy email. Haven't seen anything back.

Anybody have any thoughts, or has anyone experienced anything similar?

Next time maybe I'l sqwck 7500 and see what happens! (The code for radio failure.)
Top 
 
YETIV8R Posted: 23.07.2007, 12:42

YETIV8R

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1529

Status: offline
last visit: 04.09.13
Hi Gwen,

Thanks for sharing your story. I have had a few bad lucks with VATSIM controllers too. I have had a great time when the controllers are nice and helpful but few bad apples had me stop VATSIM for a real long time. Besides, nothing stupid or wrong moves from my side, I just did not like the controllers' attitude, 'I rule here'.

Sorry about the bad experience. Seems like your SB3 was working fine.

By the way, they are not supposed to call you by your first name. Did you use SPA273 as your call sign?

Thanks.

Naresh

Top  Profile send PM
 
KenLeMay Posted: 23.07.2007, 15:35

KenLeMay

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 800

Status: offline
last visit: 12.06.11
All,

If you have a bad experience with Vatsim; please go to the respective ARTCC site and email them. MOst of them have a place set up for feedback; if they don't respond, go to the VATUSA and email those guys, you'll definitly get a response from them!

Ken LeMay
SPA009
Top  Profile send PM
 
Anonymous Posted: 23.07.2007, 16:10
Unregistered User Thanks, Yeti & Ken. I'll send something to VATUSA, I think. The thing with the Denver controller was minor, but the incident with KORD is major, to my mind. I thought of a couple of things after I posted. I [u]know[/u] my SB3 was working fine, because my text was being echoed back from the server. Duh! But I'm wondering if my flight plan didn't get lost somewhere. I used the flight number in my call sign, i.e. SPA 1406. I like the pilot number (270) idea better, though. Point is, the controller was either ignoring me or not seeing/hearing me. If he didn't have the flight plan, that would explain it. The nasty note came from AV_SUP, which sounds like a supervisor. He'd have to use my name if he didn't have my flight plan, as that's all he'd have. So I wonder if I somehow fubared the flight plan, or if VATSIM lost it. Mmmm... I'll post the findings (if any) here.

Oh, and sqwk 7500 is for a hijacking, [u]not [/u]radio failure. Radio failure is 7600. Mayday is 7700. And obviously my information may be garbled!

8-)
Top 
 
Anonymous Posted: 24.07.2007, 20:25
Unregistered User [quote]The controller was sort of a jackass about it. "You're in MSP, I'm in Denver.", which I took to mean "Shut up and leave me alone." [/quote]

yeah.... that was me

There was a VA flyinn going on during the time. So i was wicked busy.

sorry to seem harsh

[quote]"AV_SUP" or similar asking me if I was there. He used my first name, so I know he had my flight plan.[/quote]

We can see everyones name in a chat window, much like how you guys can on SB3. So he may not have had your FP... did you try sending text on the channel if your voice wasn't working properly?


One thing to add. Make sure when you connect you don't just use the flight number. When you were talking to me you were just 1408 or something like that. make sure you use your airlines identifyer, which in this case would have been SPA1408

I'd be happy to accompany you on a vatsim flight and help you out if you ever want it

I just recently moved up to the rating of Instructor 1 :)






edited by: chrisjames, Jul 24, 2007 - 07:32 PM
Top 
 
Anonymous Posted: 25.07.2007, 11:35
Unregistered User Thanks, Chris. First, I apologize for the labeling. I was pretty irritated, but that was uncalled for. And of course what I was really upset about was the business with Chicago. AND, if I didn't feel so unsure of myself on VATSIM, it would make a lot of difference. I've actually wondered if I should try my hand at controlling. I suspect that builds character even more than flying VATSIM! 8-)

And congrats on the new rating!

Re: the Chicago business, I assumed that Chi would see me when I entered their airspace, and call me on UNICOM and/or their freq I said I was monitoring. But maybe I'm wrong about that. ??

I also assume sqwking 2200 means something along the lines of "IFR but not talking to a center." ??

And yup...I tried text on both UNICOM and Center freqs, as well as voice with Center. Nothing...

I'm really hoping to receive a response to my email to VATSIM with some info on what happened. So far, nothing.

We'll see how it goes tonight.

Thanks, Chris!

Top 
 
Anonymous Posted: 25.07.2007, 13:43
Unregistered User I try to "home" people as soon as they enter the airspace if i'm not getting a handoff from another artcc. Sometimes you miss them till their a good ways in... Though it doesn't sound like this was the case. I think it may have been something with your SB3.

Was regional night tonight? I may try and fly with you if so...

depending on class that is.
Top 
 
Anonymous Posted: 25.07.2007, 14:57
Unregistered User Yup, tonight. Let me know if you want to hook up. That'd be cool. I was planning on leaving maybe 6:00 or 6:30 PM CDT from KSTP, but I'm flexible. By "class" do you mean class of aircraft? I'm open to anything through IV. I was thinking about the Learjet, actually. But again, I'm open. My favorite FS plane is the Beech Baron 58, truth be told!

I'll be sure I'm logged on here by 6:00 PM, and watch for you.
Top 
 
Anonymous Posted: 25.07.2007, 17:06
Unregistered User no by class i mean if i have to go to school tonight.... which i do have to at 6 till 730 CDT
Top 
 
Anonymous Posted: 25.07.2007, 19:11
Unregistered User I''ll wait to fly until 8:30 pm, and hope that gives you enough time to make it.
Top 
 
Anonymous Posted: 27.07.2007, 11:59
Unregistered User I had a really nice VATSIM flight to KC last night. (I'm just tipping my hat, here.) No ATC on for MSP, so I called KC shortly after t/o and advised him I was coming his way. He told me to call him at OVR, which I did, and he had me reset the xponder code and gave me a descent a few minutes later. He was a bit busy, but very clear & professional all the way. Great flight!
Top 
 


Users online:


This list bases on the users active in the last 60 minutes


Powered by pnForum Version 2.6

Copyright 2000 - 2012 St. Paul Airlines

Web site powered by PostNuke ADODB database library PHP Language