Welcome to St. Paul Airlines, !
Main Menu

Who's Online
 Welcome Guest
Join Us!


 Login:
User:


Password:


Remember me



Retrieve lost Password
 Online
 Members:2
 Guests:3
 Total:5
 Online Members
 wschneid 
 Marcel 

SPA Recommends
VirtualCol Simulations

Return to Misty Moorings

flyawaysimulation.com

Avsim.com

Flightsim.com

SimRoutes

Flight Simulator Navigation

FS Goof's

Airman's Information Manual

NOAA Metar Access

IFR Refresher Magazine

History of MSFS

Flightaware.com

Fly Better

Aviator90 videos

search pnForum latest posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts

to previous topic Print topic to next topic

Start ::  Pilot's Lobby ::  SPAACARS Updates Issues Suggestions ::  Uh oh! SPAACARS lost connection
Moderated by: Admins

Bottom 

Uh oh! SPAACARS lost connection

Anonymous Posted: 17.09.2015, 13:23
Unregistered User Flying my flight 2603 this am KBWI to KMIA on approach I had to turn my AI off due to frame rate issue. SPAACARS reports disconnect froM FSUIPC and gives me a save file message and will not allow me to continue recording. 2.8 hours of flight time now lost. Would it not be more appropriate for SPAACARS to wait or give pilot a choice to terminate or continue after FSX is running again?

Will file manual PIREP.
Top 
 
jer029 Posted: 17.09.2015, 13:48

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 735

Status: offline
last visit: 18.04.18
Hello Steve,

I'll look into this issue. I do believe that the regular FSACARS program would not allow to continue after a disconnect.

If SPAACARS is seeing a disconnect when you really are still connected - but just turned off your AI, I need to look at that too.

Yes - ideally it would be nice to just start recording after a disconnect, but the problem is that (if FSX starts over), it's difficult to figure out how to resync the totals currently in SPAACARs with the data that the reloaded FSX is displaying.

Was this a false reading of a disconnect from FSX?


John

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
jer029 Posted: 17.09.2015, 13:58

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 735

Status: offline
last visit: 18.04.18
I'm unable to get SPAACARS to show disconnect by going into various settings and changing things - including AI. Are you using something different for AI, and is there a way I might duplicate this problem?

In the mean time I'll look into the possibility of continuing SPAACARs after a disconnect, but I'm not sure this is done by many ACARS programs is it?

Edit: Did some reading and have some ideas on how to allow a "Resume Flight" option if FSX crashes (regardless of reason). I've always hated it when that happens and you've wasted so much time you either manually file a pirep based on data available or start over again.

I'll make this my top priority in the next few days, but in the mean time, please let me know if it's possible for me to recreate the disconnect situation you experienced - especially if FSX really didn't shut down.

That error basically means that FSUIPC (Pete Dawson's addon to communicate with FSX) was no longer able to communicate with FSX - I've only seen this when FSX crashes or is closed while SPAACARS is still trying to contact FSX via FSUIPC (ie still logging the flight or attempting to send your flight to VA - which currently requires a final check with FSUIPC).

John



edited by: jer029, Sep 17, 2015 - 02:53 PM

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
Anonymous Posted: 17.09.2015, 16:01
Unregistered User John,

I use SkyAI, a wonderful and almost as complete AI set as you could want and it's free. As far as I know, FSUIPC stays connected/running as long as you are in flight mode, which I was. I dropped down the Options tab, selected Display, selected Traffic and I heard the warning sound W7 makes when it wants to get your attention, if you know what I mean. I turned off traffic and returned to my flight, never exiting freeflight mode and saw SPAACARS with the message that connection to FSUIPC had been lost. I had to attend to some life stuff, but will attempt to replicate tomorrow. I have had similar messages with ACARS programs from other VA's at times so it is possible that FSUIPC disconnects with certain menu functions. Thanks for looking into this.
Top 
 
jer029 Posted: 17.09.2015, 16:51

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 735

Status: offline
last visit: 18.04.18
Thanks for the additional information on this Steve. Note that AI applications also interact heavily with FSUIPC, and I suspect there's a conflict where both our programs attempted to do something through FSUIPC at the same time in a way that wasn't allowed.

I'll have to look into that issue as well. On my actual flight system I use VOXAtc - which uses the traffic liveries from my Ultimate Traffic addon in such a way that it can control all the traffic - having them hold at the hold-short line while I land, etc. This has not seemed to cause any issues with SPAACARS, or any other of my many addons.

Both the "Resume" feature and a possible handling of FSUIPC conflicts I'll look into.

Although many FSX addons use the FSUIPC interface, this is the first issue that's been noted of possible conflict with SPAACARS.

John

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
Anonymous Posted: 17.09.2015, 17:18
Unregistered User John, I also use FlightSim Commander while flying running on a seperate computer via Wide. I did not see an interruption there. I think I did the same thing yesterday on my 2602 flight without problems. As O said, I'll check again in the am. Meet me on TS if you get a chance.



edited by: BBQSteve, Sep 17, 2015 - 05:20 PM
Top 
 
jer029 Posted: 17.09.2015, 17:26

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 735

Status: offline
last visit: 18.04.18
Sounds good Steve - Also, before further testing you might want to make sure you're running the latest FSUIPC (4.944), just to rule out any problems with FSUIPC that might now be corrected.

John

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
Westcoast Posted: 17.09.2015, 23:47

Westcoast

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 939

Status: offline
last visit: 25.03.18
I'm confident that John will get this sorted out and of course it is best if SPAACARS is as immune as possible to various upsets. However, over the years I have learned to do a couple of things when I am using FSACARS (or SPAACARS). First, I record "by hand" the engine start time and starting final fuel load and the engine off time and final fuel load. This just takes a few seconds and is a good insurance policy. If something goes wrong, you'll always have the option of filing your PIREP using our website. The second thing (which I don't always remember) is to stop the flight as I begin the approach phase and store the flight with a title such as "999269 starting approach to Rwy 19R at PAEN". Then if something goes wrong on the approach or landing, you don't have to refly the entire flight to be able to refly the approach and correct your error. Whether you want to file that flight is up to you, but it's always best to identify and correct a mistake as soon as possible.

Mike

Westcoast
Top  Profile send PM
 
jer029 Posted: 18.09.2015, 08:43

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 735

Status: offline
last visit: 18.04.18
Good advice Mike! I'm thinking I can set SPAACARS to resume the flight at the last saved lat/lon (and probably even move your plane there at the push of a 'resume' button.

In the mean time I'll work with Steve to see if we can narrow down the possible cause to eliminate one more possible flight interruption issue.

All of these things should continue to make our flights more enjoyable by mitigating the inconvenience of the occasional FSX hiccups (surprisingly few when you consider all of the 3rd party addons that have to play well together on an antiquated application base of MS flight sim.).

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
jer029 Posted: 18.09.2015, 13:17

jer029

registered: Nov. 2011
Posts: 735

Status: offline
last visit: 18.04.18
For those following this thread, this FSUIPC disconnect issue seems to be specific to Steve's flight sim setup, and thus far unable to be reproduced on my system or Larry M's system.

Steve, perhaps try again with the latest version of FSUIPC, and if the issue continues, use FSUIPC's logging process to capture the log of what FSUIPC is doing. This can be forwarded to Pete Dowson who developed FSUIPC to help resolve what might be interfering with FSUIPC.

Regardless - the need for SPAACARs to more gracefully (and helpfully) deal with FSUIPC disconnects (whether from your issue or the more usual FSX crash for one reason or another) is something I've put on the top of my agenda for the next release :-).

Most pilots should be able to continue using SPAACARs without undue fear of sudden disconnects, but realize that when FSX crashes or other disconnects do occur - currently SPAACARS will only let you save necessary data to text for manual filing of your pirep at the website.

As always, I'll let everyone know when a new version of SPAACARS is released.

John

jer029

Top  Profile send PM Homepage
 
Anonymous Posted: 18.09.2015, 16:10
Unregistered User Thanks for your efforts John. Best advice is if it hurts, don't do that! :lol:
Top 
 


Users online:
wschneid - Marcel

This list bases on the users active in the last 60 minutes


Powered by pnForum Version 2.6

Copyright 2000 - 2012 St. Paul Airlines

Web site powered by PostNuke ADODB database library PHP Language