Welcome to St. Paul Airlines, !
Main Menu

Who's Online
 Welcome Guest
Join Us!


 Login:
User:


Password:


Remember me



Retrieve lost Password
 Online
 Members:0
 Guests:4
 Total:4
 Online Members
No Online members

SPA Recommends
VirtualCol Simulations

Return to Misty Moorings

flyawaysimulation.com

Avsim.com

Flightsim.com

SimRoutes

Flight Simulator Navigation

FS Goof's

Airman's Information Manual

NOAA Metar Access

IFR Refresher Magazine

History of MSFS

Flightaware.com

Fly Better

Aviator90 videos

search pnForum latest posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts Note: Registered users can subscribe to notifications about new posts

to previous topic Print topic to next topic

Start ::  Pilot's Lobby ::  MSFS Tweaks ::  Can't Install Aircraft in FSX
Moderated by:

Bottom 

Can't Install Aircraft in FSX

SPA118 Posted: 30.11.2006, 21:49



registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 579

Status: offline
last visit: 21.07.14
To anyone who may be able to offer assistance;

I'm trying to install some addon aircraft to FSX. Whenever I try to paste the aircraft into the SimObjects\Airplanes folder, I get the following error message:

Unable to create the folder
Access is denied

I can create new folders anywhere else I want, except for the SimObjects folder. Am I missing something?

Thanks for the help.

Eric M. Eder, SPA118
Miami Hub Manager
miamanager@stpaulairlines.com

Top  Profile send PM
 
KenLeMay Posted: 30.11.2006, 22:24

KenLeMay

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 800

Status: offline
last visit: 12.06.11
Eric, i've not ran into that issue yet! There is another way to install 3rd party acft:

1. Make a new folder called "Aircraft" in the main FSX director.

2. Add the following line in the [MAIN] section of the FSX.CFG:

after: SimObjectPaths.5=SimObjects/Misc
SimObjectPaths.6=Aircraft

Then install all your 3rd party aircraft there. I got this tip in the latest issue of Computer Pilots Magazine, under Horton's Hits for FSX.



Ken LeMay
SPA009
Top  Profile send PM
 
YETIV8R Posted: 01.12.2006, 01:27

YETIV8R

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 1529

Status: offline
last visit: 04.09.13
Ken, I did not know about that tip. Thanks.

Eric, sorry, not sure why it would not let you create a folder. Perhaps, your computer is denying you Access. 8-) 8-) Just trying to be funny.

Please do let us know about how you fixed the problem if you ever did (withough Ken's tip). I am curious to know why.

Thanks.

Salute.

Naresh 8-)
Top  Profile send PM
 
KenLeMay Posted: 01.12.2006, 10:30

KenLeMay

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 800

Status: offline
last visit: 12.06.11
You know, it almost sounds like a windows Administrator access problem. When you installed FSX, were you logged in under Administrator rights?

Ken LeMay
SPA009
Top  Profile send PM
 
SPA118 Posted: 01.12.2006, 14:27



registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 579

Status: offline
last visit: 21.07.14
Here's what I've found out.

From searching the web, it is a "conflict" between FS9 and FSX. This doesn't happen to all users, but has happened to a good number of folks. Since it is a conflict between the two programs, I decided to uninstall FS9. In the process of doing so, a bunch of FS9 files became "corrupt" and the program was not uninstalled all of the way. No problem, right? Uninstall FSX and continue with the uninstallation of FS9.... Nope. Same thing happened with FSX. Now I had two corrupt programs on my machine and couldn't do anything with either of them, to include trying to reinstall the software.

The only way I could fix this was to completely format my machine and lose EVERYTHING!!!. I've slowly been installing my software back on but have yet to put FSX back on. Looking back, I probably should have uninstalled FSX first before trying to remove FS9. Some users have gotten around this by installing FSX onto external hard drives.

If I come across any more information, I'll post it here. I'll also let you know how FSX does after I get it back on my machine (leaving off FS9 this time).



edited by: SPA118, Dec 01, 2006 - 04:01 PM

Eric M. Eder, SPA118
Miami Hub Manager
miamanager@stpaulairlines.com

Top  Profile send PM
 
KenLeMay Posted: 02.12.2006, 00:02

KenLeMay

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 800

Status: offline
last visit: 12.06.11
Wow, thats crazy! I've not heard of that particular problem. Now, I wonder what will happend to my machine if I decide to uninstall FS9? Sorry to hear about that issue Eric, and hope yoru back up soon!

Ken LeMay
SPA009
Top  Profile send PM
 
SPA118 Posted: 02.12.2006, 15:14



registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 579

Status: offline
last visit: 21.07.14
That did it. Everything is back up and working now and I can install third party and addon aircraft to FSX. All it took was a complete format of my entire machine. I think I'm going to stick to using FSX 100% of the time. I get awesome FPS will everything set to medium high.

Eric M. Eder, SPA118
Miami Hub Manager
miamanager@stpaulairlines.com

Top  Profile send PM
 
KenLeMay Posted: 03.12.2006, 10:50

KenLeMay

registered: Jan. 2006
Posts: 800

Status: offline
last visit: 12.06.11
Glad to hear your back up Eric!

Ken LeMay
SPA009
Top  Profile send PM
 


Users online:


This list bases on the users active in the last 60 minutes


Powered by pnForum Version 2.6

Copyright 2000 - 2012 St. Paul Airlines

Web site powered by PostNuke ADODB database library PHP Language